UK Catalysis Hub Summer Conference 2024 – Programme announced

Photo from UK Catalysis Hub winter conference 2023

When: 17 – 18 June 2024
Where: Pickavance Theatre (Building R22), Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Harwell Campus, Fermi Avenue, Didcot, Oxfordshire, OX11 0QX

We are holding our annual summer conference on the 17th and 18th of June. The conference will take place at the Pickavance Theatre (Building R22), Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Harwell Campus, Oxfordshire – The event will be hybrid so people have the option to attend virtually.

The conference will start at lunchtime on the 17th and the main conference will conclude in the afternoon on the 18th June. Lunch will be served. There will be a poster session on the evening of the 17th June and dinner at The Cosener’s House, Abingdon. There will be a coach for guests to the dinner on the 17th (Please book your dinner and coach place with registration). After the dinner attendees will need to arrange their own transport back to their accommodation.

Speakers at the UK Catalysis Hub summer conference include researchers from the Catalysis Hub, internationally renowned speakers and industrialists covering a range of topics in catalysis. 

Speakers include:
Click on the links below to view talk abstracts and speaker information.
Dr Katharina Brinkert (Warwick)
Dr Marina Carravetta, (Southampton)
Dr Mario Falsaperna (Bath) 
Dr Anna Hankin (Imperial)
Dr Santhosh Matam, (Cardiff)
Dr Matthew Potter (Bath)
Dr Matthew Quesne, (Cardiff)
Prof Junwang Tang (UCL/ Tsinghua University)
Prof Wataru Ueda (Kanagawa University)
Dr Dong Xia, (MMU)
Prof Rong Xu (Nanyang Technological University)

We are open for poster submissions. Send your poster abstract here to take part.

Registration has now closed. This year we have had to introduce a charge for the summer conference dinner due to external factors. Students will still be able to attend the dinner for free. Please let us know if you have any dietary requirements. Dinner tickets must be cancelled 14 days prior to the event to be eligible for a refund.

We have limited parking available. When you arrive at RAL reception, please ask at the registration desk for a parking space and you will be directed to our reserved spaces. If no more parking spaces are available please see the visitor parking map for further parking options.

We will send you the Zoom details for viewing the conference virtually closer to the time.

Click on the talk titles to view talk abstracts and speaker biographies:
17 June 2024

12:00 -12:05 – Welcome & Instructions – Prof Charlotte Williams, Oxford 

Session 1 – Pickavance Lecture Theatre (R22) Chair: Prof Graham Hutchings, Cardiff 

12:05 -12:50 – Prof Wataru Ueda (Kanagawa University) – Toward uniform structurization of solid catalysts for achieving high performance and for better understanding of catalysis

12:50 -13:15 – Dr Matthew Quesne, (Cardiff) – Towards a rational design of novel green catalysis: A computational perspective

13:15 -13:40 – Dr Santhosh Matam, (Cardiff) – Methanol diffusion dynamics in microporous materials as a function of acid site density by quasi-elastic neutron scattering (QENS)

13:40 -14:40 – Buffet Lunch – Pickavance Coffee Lounge (R22)

Session 2 –  Pickavance Lecture Theatre (R22) Chair: Prof Adrian Mulholland, Bristol

14:40 -15:25 – Dr Marina Carravetta, (Southampton) – Solid state NMR on catalytic materials

15:25 -15:50 – Dr Dong Xia, (MMU)Sonochemical CO2 reduction over copper-based catalysts

16:00 -18:00  – Drinks & Posters, Research Complex at Harwell (R92) – Poster Prize sponsored by World Scientific Publishing & EES Catalysis

18:00 – Coach to The Cosener’s House 

19:30Dinner Invitation only: The Cosener’s House Hotel 

18 June 2024

8:30 -8:55 Tea and Coffee, Pickavance Lecture Theatre (R22)

Session 3 – Pickavance Lecture Theatre (R22) Chair: Christopher Hardacre, Manchester 

9:00 -9:05 – Introduction

9:05 -9.50 – Prof Junwang Tang (UCL/ Tsinghua University) – Photon-phonon co-driven catalysis for methane transformationPresenting virtually

9:50 -10.35 – Dr Anna Hankin (Imperial) – Developing electrodeposition methods for directly synthesizing Ni-based catalysts on porous carbon transport layers (PTL) for application in zero gap AEM electrolysers

10:35 -11:20 – Dr Matthew Potter (Bath)Using in-depth characterization techniques to explore the behaviour and structure of catalysts

11:20 -11:40BREAK: Tea and Coffee, Pickavance Lecture Theatre (R22)
Session 4 – Pickavance Lecture Theatre (R22) Chair: Dr Amanda Jarvis, Edinburgh

11:40 -11:45 – Introduction

11:45 -12:30 – Dr Katharina Brinkert (Warwick)Photoelectrochemical Devices for Space Applications

12:30 -13:15 – Prof Rong Xu (Nanyang Technological University) Flame Synthesis of Catalysts and Applications

13:15 -13:40 – Dr Mario Falsaperna (Bath)  Influence of Lithium on Phase Transition of Amorphous Iridium Oxohydroxide for Oxygen Evolution Reaction

13:40 -13:45 Closing remarks

13:45 -14:45 – Buffet Lunch, Pickavance Lecture Theatre (R22)

14:45 – CLOSE

Comments are closed.